Blog for Mental Health 2013

I pledge my commitment to the Blog For Mental Health 2013 Project.  I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others.  By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health.  I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.

blogformentalhealth20131winner

Reading through the Freshly Pressed, I ran across this blog. I have a keen interest in breaking the stigma that comes with Mental Illness and bringing Mental Health issues into the open. After reading about this campaign and looking through this blog, I had to get involved. Check it out over at A Canvas of the Minds.

I live with a Mental Illness every moment of every day. I have been diagnosed with major depressive disorder accompanied by PTSD and anxiety. I wasn’t always this way. I know how it feels to be happy and experience pure joy. I remember the anticipation and excitement of the new. I wish I was capable of being as organized as I once was. I know the difference and I don’t feel those things anymore. My brain doesn’t work properly. But it use to.

It is difficult to describe as mental illness is subjective and can present in so many ways. For me it is like always having an extra fifty pounds on my back while constantly walking uphill without a plateau. It is exhausting, it is a struggle some days to move forward, it is never being able to catch my breath. My thoughts are out of sequence and my perception is messed up. For me it is the feeling of failure over and over. I can’t control my moods. I am not just an asshole. I really can not control outbursts of rage, anger or weeping sometimes. Really. The scariest part is not knowing what I said or did and being unable to connect feelings of emptiness to anything in my life. I have not been able to work in over two years. Every day life stresses send me over my edge.

But it is not just me who suffers. the worst is watching my family suffer. Knowing I am the catalyst to the looks of fear and disappointment on my children’s faces just fuels the mental illness fire and makes the disease worse. Everyone is affected by mental illness. I mean everyone. It is time to talk. To be open and honest and stop judging. To just listen and be a friend.

Check out this campaign…pass it on. Let’s open this up, show people they are not alone and being afraid of this or afraid to express is the just the fear of the unknown.

I am suppose to sponsor 5 followers to do the same – I can’t figure that part out….

I challenge EVERYONE who know me to join this campaign and sponsor 5 people that you know to do the same.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Wow. This is an extremely powerful piece of writing. Your descriptions of how things feel, I can relate to them so intensely — and yet it’s different for everyone, of course.

    Thank you for adding your voice to this.

    Reply

  2. […] Blog for Mental Health 2013 (thegreat38.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

  3. Posted by steve on January 30, 2013 at 6:43 am

    Hit me hard reading that… first appointment tomorrow. .. so much in there relates to my issues in so little words.. .

    Reply

    • Good luck at your appointment. You are stronger than you realize and try to remember you are not alone in this. No one can ever know exactly how you feel or understand the thoughts you have – but there is an entire force of individuals supporting each other out there. You are never alone.

      Reply

  4. […] Blog for Mental Health 2013 (thegreat38.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

  5. I just took the pledge myself and I’m now visiting my comrades blogging for mental health.

    I look forward to reading more of your posts. Perhaps we can encourage each other.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Oaks & Stones

Our House To Home Project

My journey, from wine lover to sober and happy...

There are thousands of people over at Soberistas.com supporting one another in achieving a happy and healthy alcohol-free life. You can find out more about joining our online community at soberistas.com

theandreaproject

i am andrea. this is my blog.

Lisa Scullard

- Just another indie author letting things get out of hand :)

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

You Knew What I Meant

Errors and Intentions

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

Bending Genre

Essays on Creative Nonfiction

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

Misc. Maggie

Now with 25% More Miscellaneousness

The Outdoor Journal

News and Views of the Outdoors

talkingthisandthat

by Kirsten Young

CARMEN MIRO

Strategic Empath and Relationship Advisor

my reality in black and white

Wellness is Contagious!

